more from
We’ve updated our Terms of Use to reflect our new entity name and address. You can review the changes here.
We’ve updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.



  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $7 USD  or more


  • Record/Vinyl + Digital Album

    Sisiliskopäiväkirjat (LP 12" VInyl Record), 7 tracks, black vinyl, printed inner sleeve

    Includes unlimited streaming of Sisiliskopäiväkirjat via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 3 days

      $23 USD or more 


Nielu 06:23
Luotaus 04:35
Kammio 09:04
Kakola 05:20
Artjärvi 03:53
Valvoja 05:29


This is a collaborative effort between WHALEWIPER (Petri Viitala) and XAMBUCA (Chandra Shukla) who agreed to do this record back in April of 2017 when mutual friend and mentor Mika Vainio tragically passed away in Trouville-sur-Mer, France. The title 'Sisiliskopäiväkirjat' translated into English from Finnish reads as 'Lizard Diaries', and is a direct reference to Mika having had a lizard tattoo on his left arm and coincidentally being visited by lizards a day after his death. Both were unlikely candidates to ever meet in real life but the death of Mika Vainio brought them together in dialogue, resulting in the agreement for the two to make sounds together in his honor.

The song titles stem from mutual memories and inside terminology of places and childhood experiences Mika Vainio and Petri Viitala shared growing up together in Turku, Finland. Shukla and Viitala quickly utilized the efficiency of the internet and agreed to work overseas to complete this mutual effort. Viitala included saxophone tracks as his main source material but also sent field recordings of natural elements such as the sound of splashing water, stones, branches, birds and chirping crickets, which he had fittingly recorded at various islands in an archipelago along the shores of Turku, Finland, Mika's former hometown. Shukla contributed electronics and processed and arranged everything with input from Viitala. Both committed to channeling sounds with the intention of Vainio in mind and 'Sisiliskopäiväkirjat' is the end result of that. The entire record is a joint collaboration in the spirit of experimentation while improving on the usage of sounds and their textures, but also the 'rejection' involved of eliminating parts that didn't work. This production and editing process is one Vainio would employ himself and can be heard not only in his recordings alongside Ilpo Väisänen in PAN SONIC, solo, Ø, collaboratively or under any of the many guises he would go by, but in his live work and installations where his sounds were utilised as well. Overall, this record is not an attempt at imitating Mika Vainio but rather an homage and sonic eulogy to Vainio as a friend, a mentor and moreover a nod to him as an inimitable master of sound; one that disappeared from this world quickly while leaving behind a legacy of inspiration.


released May 15, 2020

Recorded between 2017 - 2019
Mastered by Denis Blackham | Skye Mastering May 2020

Petri Viitala (Whalewiper) - soprano/alto/tenor/baritone saxophones, field recording (nature sounds, waves, crickets, branches), effects
Chandra Shukla (Xambuca) - electronics, arrangement

All photos by Petri Viitala, all graphics by Chandra Shukla, photos included on the physical copy of Mika, by Antti Viitala

This album is dedicated to the memory of Mika Tapio Vainio
(May 15, 1963 - April 12, 2017).

All proceeds of this record will go to Amnesty International as
"The Mika Vainio AI Fund"

Special thanks to Atte Vainio, Aino Vainio, Kalevi "Kalle" Vainio, Outi Vainio (RIP) and the entire Vainio family, Antti Viitala, the entire Viitala family, Shyam nd Niramala Shukla, Ilpo Väisänen, Tommi Grönlund, Carl Michael von Hausswolff, Dirk Dresselhaus, Sami Salo, Kim "Mono Junk" Rapatti, Erkki Rautio, Jali Wahlsten, Mika Taanila, Tero Vuorinen, Stina Friman, Tapio Onnela, Ben Ponton, Björk Guðmundsdóttir, Alex Murray-leslie, Jacob Kirkegaard, Christian Fennesz, Christian Zanési, Timo Kaukolampi, Lucio Capece, Franck Vigroux, France Jobin, BJ "Benny" Nilsen, Hildur Guðnadóttir,Cindy Van Acker, Joséphine Michel, Keiji Haino, Stephen O'Malley, Joachim Nordwall, Jon Wozencroft, Mike Harding, Pertti Grönholm, Jimi Tenor, Keith McIvor (DJ Twitch), Dr. Haley Newman, David Crawford, Bill Bronson, Dave Burton, Caspar Brötzmann, Michael Gira and The Swans, Melissa E Logan, Harry Salmenniemi, Barry Adamson, Justine Frischmann, Daniel Pflumm, Yuen Chee Wai, Ute Meta Bauer, Paulina Ahokas, Anne Hämäläinen, Marcello Simeone, Harold Seah, Ralph Perou, Toumas Karemo, Tuku Rantanen, Sirpa Kupari, Naut Humon, Jari Lehtinen, Robin Rimbaud, Carsten Nicolai, Ryoji Ikeda, Bruce Gilbert, Charlemagne Palestine, Simon John Fisher Turner, Edward Paul Quist, Oscar Sol, Lary7, Esko Routamaa, Paul Smith, Susan Stenger, HTRK, Robert Poss, FM Einheit, Mo Loschelder, Udo Siegfriedt, Leif Elggren, Arne Deforce, John Duncan, Liz Lamere, Alan Vega (RIP), Bryn Jones (RIP), Erkki Kurenniemi (RIP), Zbigniew Karkowski (RIP), Peter Rehberg, Lada Ferrari, JG Thirlwell, Masami Akita, Jarboe, Harold Budd (RIP), Christina "Chra" Nemec, and most of all Rikke Lundgreen and all those closest to Mika and loved by him.

Produced and recorded in Turku city and Turku Archipelago, Suomi (Finland) and Asheville, NC USA at Dissimulata.
Whalewiper | Xambuca.

XAMBUCA is published by Touch Music / Fairwood Music (UK) Ltd.

2020, 2022 All rights reserved.


all rights reserved



XAMBUCA Asheville, North Carolina

XAMBUCA does not really exist in the material space time continuum. Instead, XAMBUCA conceptually feeds on the subconscious figment of a host's imagination; a host that has a tendency to encounter its name or symbols in passing by mere coincidence.

contact / help


Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Sisiliskopäiväkirjat, you may also like: